HTML5 is the latest standard for HTML. The previous version of HTML, HTML 4.01, came in 1999, and the internet has changed significantly since then. HTML5 was designed to replace both HTML 4, XHTML, and the HTML DOM Level 2. It was specially designed to deliver rich content without the need for additional plugins. The current version delivers everything from animation to graphics, music to movies, and can also be used to build complicated web applications.

Sample Code for HTML5

<!DOCTYPE html>
<video width=”320″ height=”240″ controls>
<source src=”movie.mp4″ type=”video/mp4″>
<source src=”movie.ogg” type=”video/ogg”>
Your browser does not support the video tag.


What is New in HTML5?

  1. New Elements
  2. New Attributes
  3. Full CSS3 Support
  4. Video and Audio
  5. 2D/3D Graphics
  6. Local Storage
  7. Local SQL Database
  8. Web Applications


How Did HTML5 Get Started?

HTML5 is a cooperation between the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG).

WHATWG was working with web forms and applications, and W3C was working with XHTML 2.0. In 2006, they decided to cooperate and create a new version of HTML.


Some rules for HTML5 were established:

  1. New features should be based on HTML, CSS, DOM, and JavaScript
  2. The need for external plugins (like Flash) should be reduced
  3. Error handling should be easier than in previous versions
  4. Scripting has to be replaced by more markup
  5. HTML5 should be device-independent
  6. The development process should be visible to the public


What is HTML5 <!DOCTYPE>

In HTML5 there is only one DOCTYPE declaration, and it is very simple: <!DOCTYPE html>


Basic HTML5 Template

<!DOCTYPE html>
<meta charset=”UTF-8″>
<title>Title of page</title>
<body> Content of the page


HTML5 – New Features

Some of the most interesting new features in HTML5 are:

  1. The <canvas> element for 2D drawing
  2. The <video> and <audio> elements for media playback
  3. Support for local storage
  4. New content-specific elements, like <article>, <footer>, <header>, <nav>, <section>
  5. New form controls, like calendar, date, time, email, url, search
  6. HTML5 Supported Browser

Browsers like (Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari, Opera) support the new HTML5 elements and APIs, and continue to add new HTML5 features in their latest versions.

The HTML 5 working group includes AOL, Apple, Google, IBM, Microsoft, Mozilla, Nokia, Opera, and hundreds of other vendors.

HTML5 growing like nothing, and you are at right place to learn it right.